Coverart for item
The Resource The fixer upper, Mary Kay Andrews

The fixer upper, Mary Kay Andrews

Label
The fixer upper
Title
The fixer upper
Statement of responsibility
Mary Kay Andrews
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In the crosshairs of a political bribery investigation, Dempsey Jo Killebrew suddenly finds herself unemployed and the victim of a sleazy smear campaign by her former boss. Dempsey decides to take up her father's offer of flipping a recently inherited family home in Guthrie, Ga., where she quickly slides into the renovation groove, fits in with the locals, and embarks on a romance
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • Dempsey Killebrew’s life is in shambles. She is abruptly fired from her high-powered job as a Washington lobbyist when her boss is accused of political shenanigans and uses vulnerable Dempsey as his scapegoat. Out of work, out of money, and out of options, Dempsey goes to Guthrie, Georgia, at her father’s request, to work on a house he inherited. Not only is it a total mess, it’s also inhabited by an elderly distant relative with a shotgun who has only disgust for anyone named Killebrew—and no plans for moving out. With limited funds from her father, Dempsey sets out to fix the house, and maybe herself with a little help from her new friends in town, as she struggles to clear her name and avoid federal prosecution for the allegations made by her former boss, who took advantage of her naïveté. Andrews serves up a tempting and satisfying dish of southern-fried romance, featuring a courageous heroine who is wooed by a worthy hero. -- Engelmann, Patty (Reviewed 05-01-2009) (Booklist, vol 105, number 17, p62)
  • Andrews's latest Southern charmer begins with junior lobbyist Dempsey Jo Killebrew in the crosshairs of a political bribery investigation. Suddenly unemployed and the victim of a sleazy smear campaign by her former boss, Dempsey decides to take up her father's offer of flipping a recently inherited family home in Guthrie, Ga. As it turns out, the house needs much more than a fresh coat of paint, and Dempsey's ornery cousin and her dog are squatting there. So it is that the formerly glamorous Dempsey steps into her dead uncle's overalls and chips her manicured nails as she scrubs and sands her way through fixing up the house, quickly finding a renovation groove, fitting in with the locals and embarking on a romance. Meanwhile, the FBI and a pesky reporter come asking questions about the bribery accusations. This authentic tale of cleaning up life's messes and self-discovery is bright, engaging and thoughtful, enlivened by Andrews's quirky characters and lovely backwoods setting. (July) --Staff (Reviewed May 11, 2009) (Publishers Weekly, vol 256, issue 19, p32)
  • Arriving just in time for summer beach reading is the most entertaining novel yet from Andrews (Deep Dish ). Washington, DC, insider Dempsey Jo Killebrew is surprisingly clueless about her lobbyist boss's less than ethical behavior, even after she finds herself unceremoniously fired and licking her wounds in Guthrie, GA. There she reluctantly undertakes a project of restoring a dilapidated house that her father had recently inherited, hoping to sell it for a profit. Not surprisingly, this project is full of problems. The house's elderly resident isn't one bit anxious to move out, but luckily the charming if eccentric townsfolk include a pretty darn handsome local lawyer who comes to Dempsey's defense when it looks as if she might be in just as much trouble as her backstabbing former boss. Add a couple of FBI agents, a meddling mother, and a dog named Shorty, and readers will find themselves eagerly turning pages to find out how the situation resolves itself. VERDICT Fans of Jennifer Crusie or Susan Elizabeth Phillips will find this a delightful addition to the genre of slightly wacky romance stories. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 3/15/09.]—Margaret Hanes, Warren P.L., MI --Margaret Hanes (Reviewed July 15, 2009) (Library Journal, vol 134, issue 12, p79)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
313824
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1954-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Andrews, Mary Kay
Dewey number
813/.54
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3570.R587
LC item number
F59 2009
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Young women
  • Dwellings
  • Families
  • Romance fiction
  • Georgia
Target audience
adult
Label
The fixer upper, Mary Kay Andrews
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
422 pages
Isbn
9780060837389
Lccn
2008048241
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)262886342
  • (OCoLC)ocn262886342
Label
The fixer upper, Mary Kay Andrews
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
422 pages
Isbn
9780060837389
Lccn
2008048241
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)262886342
  • (OCoLC)ocn262886342

Library Locations

    • Cumming LibraryBorrow it
      585 Dahlonega Street, Cumming, GA, 30040, US
      34.220596 -84.131772
Processing Feedback ...