Coverart for item
The Resource The summer country : a novel, Lauren Willig

The summer country : a novel, Lauren Willig

Label
The summer country : a novel
Title
The summer country
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Lauren Willig
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Barbados, 1854: Emily Dawson has always been the poor cousin in a prosperous English merchant clan -- merely a vicar's daughter, and a reform-minded vicar's daughter, at that. Everyone knows that the family's lucrative shipping business will go to her cousin, Adam, one day. But when her grandfather dies, Emily receives an unexpected inheritance: Peverills, a sugar plantation in Barbados, a plantation her grandfather never told anyone he owned. When Emily accompanies her cousin and his new wife to Barbados, she finds Peverills a burnt-out shell, reduced to ruins in 1816, when a rising of enslaved people sent the island up in flames. Rumors swirl around the derelict plantation; people whisper of ghosts. Why would her practical-minded grandfather leave her a property in ruins? Why are the neighboring plantation owners, the Davenants, so eager to acquire Peverills? The answer lies in the past, a tangled history of lies, greed, clandestine love, heartbreaking betrayal, and a bold bid for freedom. A brilliant, multigenerational saga in the tradition of THE THORN BIRDS and NORTH AND SOUTH, THE SUMMER COUNTRY will beguile readers with its rendering of families, heartbreak, and the endurance of hope against all odds
Cataloging source
B@L
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Willig, Lauren
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
OverDrive, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Electronic books
  • Haunted places
  • Inheritance and succession
  • Sugar plantations
  • Family secrets
  • Historical fiction
  • Barbados
Target audience
adult
Label
The summer country : a novel, Lauren Willig
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062839046
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
433B5DDC-3E69-4A56-8315-0F92BA9DE1B1
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1102439566
  • (OCoLC)on1102439566
Label
The summer country : a novel, Lauren Willig
Link
Publication
Copyright
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062839046
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
433B5DDC-3E69-4A56-8315-0F92BA9DE1B1
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1102439566
  • (OCoLC)on1102439566

Library Locations

  • Cumming LibraryBorrow it
    585 Dahlonega Street, Cumming, GA, 30040, US
    34.220596 -84.131772
  • Hampton Park LibraryBorrow it
    5345 Settingdown Road, Cumming, GA, 30041, US
    34.305256 -84.067603
  • Post Road LibraryBorrow it
    5010 Post Road, Cumming, GA, 30040, US
    34.205256 -84.220792
  • Sharon Forks LibraryBorrow it
    2820 Old Atlanta Road, Cumming, GA, 30041, US
    34.11878 -84.156553