Coverart for item
The Resource The unremembered, Peter Orullian

The unremembered, Peter Orullian

Label
The unremembered
Title
The unremembered
Statement of responsibility
Peter Orullian
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"The troubles of the world seem far from the Hollows, where Tahn Junell struggles to remeber his lost childhood and to understand words he feels compelled to utter each time he draw his boy. Trouble arrives when two strangers appear--an enigmatic man wearing the sigil of the feared Order of Sheason and a beautiful woman of the legendary Far"--Publisher
Member of
Award
Library Journal Best Books, 2011.
Review
  • Summoned from the bucolic Hollows by a wizardly stranger and an elven Far, untested orphans Tahn, Wendra, and Sutter set out on a perilous and mysterious quest, soon grievously menaced by evil minions of a god who seeks world domination. Meanwhile, a capital city braces for invasion. This well-worn epic fantasy formula suffers from an inflated, pretentious creation-myth prologue, unprepared shifts in point of view, and jerkily inserted gobbets of history. Nevertheless, Orullian often achieves convincing poignancy in the relationships he develops among his young protagonists. Young devotees of long, long fantasy journeys and adolescent comings-of-age may enjoy the near-endless succession of deadly adventures in Orullian's elaborate world, but those yearning for linguistic and philosophical depth will have to look elsewhere. (Apr.) --Staff (Reviewed February 14, 2011) (Publishers Weekly, vol 258, issue 07, p)
  • /* Starred Review */ Bound behind a magical barrier, along with the horrific monsters of his making, for threatening to destroy the balance of creation, the god Quietus seeks to escape his prison and rule the world of Aeshau Vaal. Brought together by Vendanj, a member of the Order of Sheason, wielders of magic in a land that has forbidden its use, Than Junell, his sister Wendra, and his two best friends embark on a dangerous journey that will push the young folk from the Hollows to the limits of their endurance. VERDICT Orullian's debut promises a series of epic proportions set in a world undergoing a cultural revolution that could prove its undoing. Engaging characters and powerful storytelling in the tradition of Robert Jordan, Terry Goodkind, and Dennis L. McKiernan make this a top-notch fantasy by a new author to watch. --Jackie Cassada (Reviewed March 15, 2011) (Library Journal, vol 136, issue 5, p110)
  • Reboot (read: author's definitive edition) of a fantasy first published in 2011, pointing the way to an upcoming sequel.A magical Veil separates the good guys of the Eastlands from the evil Westlands. A members of a sect called the Leiholan dedicate themselves to maintaining the Veil by singing the Song of Suffering. Still, for reasons unclear, the Veil is weakening, so the good guys need to pull an army together (historically, this has been a problem) and also organize a heroes' quest, though it's far from certain what the heroes hope to accomplish. In concept and approach, then, it's a mashup of such favorite (or least favorite, depending) epic-fantasy authors as Stephen R. Donaldson, Terry Brooks, Terry Goodkind and Robert Jordan. The questers are types rather than personalities and consist of: Vendanj, a Sheason (wizard) prone to regrets and gnomic musings; young bowman Tahn Junell, who wants to recover the lost memories of his childhood; Braethen Posian, of a warrior-scholar brotherhood sworn to protect Sheason; farmer and adventure-seeker Sutter, providing comic relief while learning that he sees dead people before they die; Tahn's abused sister, Wendra, furnishing moments of real pathos when she howls out her pain and discovers she can work magic through the power of her song; fleet, sexy Mira, with a life expectancy of just 18 years; and good-hearted criminal exile Grant. Along their meandering way, they'll deal with obstacles that test their resolve while being harassed by opposition in the form of Velle (evil wizards), Bar'dyn (sort of knobbly giants), zombies and the like. Orullian writes with facility and a confidence that too often veers into overblown description and obscure, rambling philosophical conversations: further evidence, should any be required, that fantasy fans like what they like regardless of rational considerations. Indications that he can or will address these problems in the sequel are few. In sum, a lumbering, gnarled behemoth that seeks to crush readers beneath its sheer mass.(Kirkus Reviews, February 1, 2015)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
390525
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Orullian, Peter Vance
Dewey number
813/.6
Illustrations
maps
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3615.R85
LC item number
U57 2011
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
The vault of heaven
Series volume
bk. 1
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Imaginary places
  • Voyages and travels
  • Good and evil
Target audience
adult
Label
The unremembered, Peter Orullian
Instantiates
Publication
Note
"A Tom Doherty Associates book."
Dimensions
25 cm.
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
669 p.
Isbn
9780765325716
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Lccn
2010036105
Other physical details
map
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn651912488
  • (OCoLC)651912488
  • 187711
Label
The unremembered, Peter Orullian
Publication
Note
"A Tom Doherty Associates book."
Dimensions
25 cm.
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
669 p.
Isbn
9780765325716
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Lccn
2010036105
Other physical details
map
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn651912488
  • (OCoLC)651912488
  • 187711

Library Locations

    • Cumming LibraryBorrow it
      585 Dahlonega Street, Cumming, GA, 30040, US
      34.220596 -84.131772
    • Sharon Forks LibraryBorrow it
      2820 Old Atlanta Road, Cumming, GA, 30041, US
      34.11878 -84.156553
    • Hampton Park LibraryBorrow it
      5345 Settingdown Road, Cumming, GA, 30041, US
      34.305256 -84.067603
Processing Feedback ...